How to Sell House Fast!: Home Inspection

We have spent the past few weeks prepping our house to sell, and now have a signed contact!  While we are very excited, we also realize that it is crunch time.  Now we need to get ready for the home inspection….

How to Sell House Fast!: Home Inspection by The Sweet Spot Blog

The good news is that if you have been following along with our ‘How to Sell House Fast!’ series, then you are nearly ready.  Here is a list a a few extra things you will want to prepare for your home inspection.

1. Service HVAC units: Call a service professional to check and clean your A/C and heating units.  They will make sure that everything is running smoothly and will provide a report that you can share with your home inspector.
2. New HVAC filters: Your filter can never be too clean for the home inspector!
3. Clean the drains: Even though you did this in an earlier step of our series, you want to snake out all the hair from each of your sinks and give them a dose of Draino.  In my husband’s bathroom sink I only found 3 hairs since the last cleaning…but for some reason my sink drain was full again!
4. Check under sinks: Make sure there is no moisture under your sinks.  If there is, tighten the pipes to stop the leaks.  I hand-tightened my pipes just to be sure and found one that was a little lose, but not yet leaking.
5. Re-Freshen appliances: In Part 4 of this series, we freshened the garbage disposal, washing machine, and dish washer.  If it has been more than 2 weeks since you completed this task, I would recommend doing it once more (sorry).
6. Smoke detectors: Test to make sure all smoke detectors are working properly.  Change batteries if necessary.
7. Flush the toilets: Flush each of the toilets an hour before the inspector arrives.
8. Run the faucets: Run both hot and cold water in each of your faucets just before the inspector arrives.  This includes tubs and showers.
9. Stage house: Prepare your house for the inspection in the same way you prepped for a showing.  You want to impress the inspector too!  Also know that the potential buyer may attend the inspection and you want them to remain excited about purchasing your house.

It is best if you are home during the inspection so you can answer any questions as they arise.  You will also be able to quickly give the inspector access to the attic and electrical box.  I find this stage in selling a house to be the most stressful…since I am in the least control, however the result is sure to be positive if each step in this series has been followed!

Be sure to ‘pin’ this post so you have  it handy when preparing for a home inspection.  Good luck!

[nrelate-related]


41 Responses to How to Sell House Fast!: Home Inspection

  1. Andrea July 14, 2014 at 11:24 am #

    Oh and have a good pest control guy on speeddial. We ended up not having any issues. But somehow at one point the access door to the crawl space was left off and critters got in, however brief (during our coldest winter ever in the PNW). They weren’t there- just their old evidence. But chances are you may need to provide proof of professional pest inspection and maybe a round of bait to to prove there is no activity. Luckily whatever had been there has long moved on. Pest control will most likely give you suggestions or try to sell you a more secure door to your crawl space. Use your best judgement.

    Electrical boxes- we knew ours was old but it’s still functional and we had a trusted reputable electrician give us a quote on what it would have cost to replace it so we knew what we would be up against if we had any red flags. The inspector knew his electrical boxes but confirmed that it was acceptable. (phew!)
    Same goes for furnace, water heater etc. We all know how items like that could be on it’s “last leg” but still last for another 5 years. If it’s well aged and you have time- find out what it would cost – might help negotiate (buyer credit etc) We did that on our furnace. It felt weird not dealing with it but we were done by that time.

    EEK! Nothing is like the emotional roller coaster of dealing with these final details. Holy MOley! We sold our house last summer and it was insane. I did NOT expect it to happen so fast! Granted it sold fast and then it took 3 months to close because the home owner had switched jobs or something like that. That kinda held up the inspection and had a domino effect on the process- then we had to deal with a few details. I honestly was surprised at how little major issues our old house had! We lucked out and had the most amazing agent with tons of experience and familiarity of our area. (basic starter home) But yeah- if you can survive the inspection- you are *almost* there… following any further negotiations pending inspection results.
    We had to rent an apartment while our new house was being built. But we also had our new construction inspected before closing too. He found moisture in our crawl space. I was beginning to hate crawl spaces by now. Nothing major, easily dealt with. But It always helps to get an unbiased opinion.

    I also learned that everyone has different standards and needs and just because you are “movin’ on up”, the buyer is also doing that from whatever they are coming from.

    I also learned- everything is NEGOTIABLE!!! (mostly) ;)

    • Corinna July 22, 2014 at 2:17 pm #

      Thanks for all your great tips Andrea!

  2. Todd Hutcheson October 16, 2015 at 2:25 pm #

    I think it is a great idea to get a home inspection before you sell so it gives the buyers peace of mind that they are not buying a house with problems. Have it out on the kitchen counter along with the info on the house. The $300 you spend will make your house sell much faster.

  3. Silas Knight May 24, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

    Getting a home inspection is a great tip for selling a home quickly. You have some good advice for preparing for an inspection, like checking under the sinks. We are planning on moving soon, so I will remember this as it gets closer, thanks!

  4. Andersen August 3, 2016 at 12:02 am #

    I have never sold a home, and the thought of it gives me a bit of a headache. I can’t imagine having to keep my home tidy and squeaky clean all the time!

    I never heard of a city home inspection before listing a house – good to know!

  5. Lindsey @roofing contractors September 3, 2016 at 12:42 am #

    I also never sold a home, but still I found this information informative and may be it can help me in my future. Yes, I know that home inspection is very important for both the home buyer and for the home seller.
    Home inspection really works for home seller for selling a home fast.

  6. electrichelping September 9, 2016 at 2:44 am #

    I have never sold a home, and the considered it gives me somewhat of a cerebral pain. I can’t envision keeping my home clean and squeaky clean constantly!

    I never knew about a city home assessment before posting a house – great to know!

    • jahid February 26, 2017 at 3:36 am #

      Those tips you said about utilizing common things on bugs is astounding. I have never utilize normal things on bugs. I truly value your exertion, keep it up.

      I didn’t welcome that a blend of plan pop and sugar could truly be perilous to cockroaches. I’ve never had cockroaches, thank sky, yet I’m always checking for approaches to manage administer coordinate driving force control dispose of aggravations routinely so I can be set up in the event that I ever get a trap. I’ll unmistakably study the warming pop and sugar blend, and I’ll have a go at utilizing a void compartment to trap bugs too. An insistence of thankfulness is all together for the article!I do trust it’s a mindful thought for each home incite holder to know a touch of the shabby choice for unsettling impact control and that is going for the general system. An affirmation of thankfulness is all together to post down these. Eucalyptus leaves are important in my family since they are surprising in keeping up a key partition from parasites. It’s noticeable to see such wearisome ways to deal with oversee direct administer control keep your home unsettling impact free. It seems like everything uses chemicals now a days paying little mind to I ought to endeavor these structures. An accreditation of gratefulness is all together to share! I’ll vehemently watch these tips you’ve posted. Parasites were reliably altogether more shocking than a frightful dream when I rest at home these current weeks. Thakyou cash sparing guard for this post!

  7. Christina January 12, 2017 at 7:17 am #

    It’s nice that you were able to find a reputable electrician who gave you a quality quote. Your experience going through an emotional roller coaster dealing with all the details is understandable as well.

  8. Orlando HBP April 9, 2017 at 9:41 am #

    No-8 (Run the faucets) is important! By the way, I will follow all these as mentioned above in detail. As always home inspection is very important for both the home buyer and for the home seller as well. I will follow these tips in the near future.

  9. Kathreen Miller April 19, 2017 at 3:19 am #

    Very informative post thanks for sharing such an interesting and informative information really helped a lot.

  10. Grant Williams September 29, 2017 at 5:00 am #

    Nice tips, including looking at pipes underneath the sinks.

    Another idea would be to have a friend who’s somewhat competent at knowing what to look for to go through and see if they catch anything that you overlooked.

    Thanks!

  11. view publisher site December 18, 2017 at 5:21 pm #

    I simply want to say I am beginner to weblog and really liked you’re page. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with excellent well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing your webpage.

  12. memory foam mattress topper reviews 2016 December 20, 2017 at 1:26 am #

    He made a 2 part bed from wood as well as these bed mattress functioned wonderfully.

  13. Flex ea December 20, 2017 at 8:59 am #

    Good writing skills here, I like it :)

  14. Reklama GorzĂłw December 20, 2017 at 12:34 pm #

    Good – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related info ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, web site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Nice task.

  15. content December 20, 2017 at 5:08 pm #

    MetroClick specializes in building completely interactive products like Photo Booth for rental or sale, Touch Screen Kiosks, Large Touch Screen Displays , Monitors, Digital Signages and experiences. With our own hardware production facility and in-house software development teams, we are able to achieve the highest level of customization and versatility for Photo Booths, Touch Screen Kiosks, Touch Screen Monitors and Digital Signage. Visit MetroClick at http://www.metroclick.com/ or , 121 Varick St, New York, NY 10013, +1 646-843-0888

  16. treppenverkleidung holz December 21, 2017 at 7:38 am #

    I think you have remarked some very interesting details , thanks for the post.

  17. site December 21, 2017 at 1:58 pm #

    Faytech North America is a touch screen Manufacturer of both monitors and pcs. They specialize in the design, development, manufacturing and marketing of Capacitive touch screen, Resistive touch screen, Industrial touch screen, IP65 touch screen, touchscreen monitors and integrated touchscreen PCs. Contact them at http://www.faytech.us, 121 Varick Street, New York, NY 10013, +1 646 205 3214

  18. Read this December 21, 2017 at 6:17 pm #

    Seriously alluring highlights that you have stated, many thanks for setting up.

  19. Signages Digital December 22, 2017 at 6:09 am #

    Tremendously significant resources you have remarked, thanks a lot for posting.

  20. Resistive Touch Screen Panel December 22, 2017 at 7:18 am #

    Hi there, just got receptive to your post through yahoo, and discovered that it’s seriously helpful. I’ll appreciate in the event you maintain this approach.

  21. Recommended Site December 22, 2017 at 1:36 pm #

    I really desire to tell you that I am new to blog posting and very much valued your article. Likely I am probably to save your blog post . You really have fabulous article materials. Delight In it for discussing with us your favorite url report

  22. important link December 22, 2017 at 2:00 pm #

    MichaelJemery.com is a site with many hypnosis downloads. Whether you are looking for free hypnosis downloads, self hypnosis download for mp3, video and any audio files, Michael Jemery has the downloads for you. You can download hypnosis from apps, audio, mp3 and even youtube !

  23. podnosnik koszowy wrocław December 23, 2017 at 2:56 pm #

    Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  24. podnośniki koszowe wrocław December 24, 2017 at 7:17 pm #

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

  25. Liposukcja Nieinwazyjna December 26, 2017 at 9:32 pm #

    What i do not realize is actually how you’re no longer really a lot more neatly-preferred than you may be right now. You’re very intelligent. You already know therefore significantly in relation to this topic, produced me personally consider it from so many numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it’s something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs nice. At all times take care of it up!

  26. Treppe Polen December 27, 2017 at 12:55 pm #

    It’s in reality a great and useful piece of information. I am happy that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  27. Biuro Rachunkowe Gorzów Wielkopolski December 28, 2017 at 3:34 pm #

    Good write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  28. Zgrzewanie Rur PP December 29, 2017 at 4:59 pm #

    Simply wanna tell that this is handy , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  29. Zäune Aus Polen Kunststoff December 30, 2017 at 10:54 pm #

    I reckon something truly special in this website.

  30. Zaun Polen January 1, 2018 at 7:24 am #

    I like this web site so much, saved to fav. “American soldiers must be turned into lambs and eating them is tolerated.” by Muammar Qaddafi.

  31. Tworzenie Stron WWW January 1, 2018 at 8:31 am #

    You have brought up a very fantastic details , appreciate it for the post.

  32. Kindergeld January 2, 2018 at 3:28 pm #

    I have not checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend :)

  33. Telewizja N January 3, 2018 at 3:28 pm #

    You have observed very interesting points! ps decent site.

  34. Fiberscope.Net January 4, 2018 at 9:36 am #

    To check HVAC you might need to have a videoscope or other device. For cases like house selling, if you decide to do everything yourself, you could think of renting a device like borescope or videoscope

  35. Masaz Gorzow January 4, 2018 at 5:20 pm #

    I believe this web site has got some really great information for everyone :D. “This is an age in which one cannot find common sense without a search warrant.” by George Will.

  36. Nc+ Pakiety January 6, 2018 at 4:17 am #

    Wow! This can be one particular of the most helpful blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Fantastic. I am also a specialist in this topic so I can understand your hard work.

  37. Massey Ferguson January 6, 2018 at 10:37 am #

    Normally I don’t read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

  38. Challenger January 8, 2018 at 11:30 am #

    I have recently started a site, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work. “The only winner in the War of 1812 was Tchaikovsky” by Solomon Short.

  39. Genie Zx135-70 January 8, 2018 at 1:15 pm #

    You have noted very interesting points ! ps decent website . “Gratitude is the sign of noble souls.” by Aesop.

© 2012, The Sweet Spot Blog. All Rights Reserved.